Making an attempt to return to blogging!

It’s been about 5 months since I wrote my last blog post and I never planned to take such a long break. Sometimes, though, different parts of your life throw you off-balance; that’s what happened to me. I realize that sounds dramatic, but it really wasn’t. I just stepped up at work to help out in a few different areas that ended up to demand more of my weekly schedule, which affected how much job searching and reading time I had and the free time after that I wanted to spend writing instead of sleeping. Let’s be real: I like my sleep. Sometimes I go to bed before it’s dark so I can get 10 hours or more of sleep.

Positive things that came out of my blogging break:

  • I went on another interview. (Yeah, just one. Out of, at this point, about 100 applications I’ve sent out.)
  • I started running again — and am LOVING it. Every time I’ve tried to stay a “runner” it hasn’t happened. I used to do it in 3-month spurts, 3 days a week or so — it never lasted any longer. This time around, I’m using running as a de-stress tool alongside yoga. It’s only been happening once or twice a week since the beginning of March, but I’m still enjoying it.
  • I’ve been reading books that I’ve had strong desires to read, not just books from my to-read or TBR lists. A lot of re-reads so I am up-to-date when it comes to the most recent series releases I still haven’t yet read. (Like right now I’m working on The Young Elites before delving into The Rose Society, I want to re-read Undertow, A Court of Thorns and Roses, and the first two books in Kelley Armstrong’s Cainsville series before moving onto the newest ones I haven’t gotten to yet.)
  • I’ve been working on the big books on my shelves, little by little. House of Leaves is a journey.

I can’t promise that I’ll be super good at the blogging thing now, but as long as I want to do it, I will!

Leave a Reply

